Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn the coveted Fabric Analytics Engineer certification. 100% off your exam for a limited time only!

Anonymous
Not applicable

Convert whole number to decimal number in Power BI

Hi everybody!

I am completely new to Power BI and this is officially my first day of using it 🙂

I am currently doing an onboarding tutorial for the programme, in which I have been given some fictional sales data. However, in the tutorial, when they load their excel file into power BI, the unit price, sales amount and total product cost is given as a decimal. For me on the other hand, these were for some reason loaded as whole numbers instead.

This means that my current data looks like this:

Jyggalag77_0-1660122117581.png

As you can see, I have converted the type from "Whole number" to "Decimal number". However, the numbers have not changed, and they effectively need to have a comma after the first two numbers (so the values on the first line will be 20,99 for unit price, 83,98 for sales amount and 52,3452 for total product cost).

Does anybody know of a way in which I can change this, so my data is converted? I would prefer to avoid entering the excel CSV file if possible, but if I have to, I am open to that solution as well 🙂

Thank you so much all!

Kind regards,

Jyggalag

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
mattkocak
Kudo Kingpin
Kudo Kingpin

The easiest way would probably be to click on the column that you are trying to update from the side menu, go to the Column tools tab in the top ribbon, and change the Data type to decimal there.

mattkocak_0-1660122576740.png

Additionally, you could update the data type in the Power Query Editor (Transform data selection), as oulined in the following blog post:

https://sqlskull.com/2022/01/05/change-column-data-type-in-power-bi/

If I answered your question, it would be helpful to me to mark my post as a solution and give me a thumbs up.

Best,

Matt