Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

Jawed
Helper III
Helper III

Convert text to number

Hi everyone,

I am new to Power BI and this is my first attempt at uploading my budget and actual numbers. Because my budget is columnar, I needed to use the "Unpivot Column" option to sort out the Dates (which used to be the column header) and the amounts (which used to be the figures underneath the Dates header). Having done that, I then went ahead and changed the column type for both Dates (to dates types) and Amount column to "Fixed Decimal Number". 

By applying and closing, I am not able to get the budget figures and get the below error. Any help would be appreciated.

ThanksImage.png

7 REPLIES 7
Zubair_Muhammad
Community Champion
Community Champion

Hi @ Jawed, This error might be because you chose to keep errors. Try removing errors and then change type of Budget Amount to Decimals

Regards
Zubair

Please try my custom visuals

Thank you @Zubair_Muhammad. I deleted them and then tried it again with no luck. 

MarcelBeug
Community Champion
Community Champion

According to the data type symbol (123) in the column header, you changed the type to Whole Number instead of Fixed Decimal.

Personally I'm not in favour of data type Fixed Decimal (which is the same as currency), because it has 4 decimals.

I would prefer Decimal Number instead, and make sure that any currency amounts are properly rounded.

Type Decimal Number.png

Specializing in Power Query Formula Language (M)