Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

perishkabb

Convert shortened month to MM and add Fiscal Year

I have a column with shortened months (Oct, Nov, Dec etc) but need to add another column with Year where only Oct, Nov, Dec are 2020 and all other months are 2021.

Then I need to add both and show as MM/YYYY or 01/MM/YYYY so I can have type as date for timeline dashboard

I'm new to Power BI so a little detail would be appreciated!

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
edhans
Super User
Super User

See this @perishkabb . I keyed in Oct-Jan and got this table from it:

edhans_0-1612312159893.png

The first formula is:

if List.Contains({"Oct", "Nov", "Dec"}, [Month]) then 2020 else 2021

The second formula is:

Date.FromText([Month] & " " & Text.From([Year]))

From there you can format your date however you like. Power BI has custom date formats like Excel does. Here is the full M code as an example:

let
    Source = Table.FromRows(Json.Document(Binary.Decompress(Binary.FromText("i45W8k8uUYrViVbyyy8D0y6pyWDaKzFPKTYWAA==", BinaryEncoding.Base64), Compression.Deflate)), let _t = ((type nullable text) meta [Serialized.Text = true]) in type table [Month = _t]),
    #"Changed Type" = Table.TransformColumnTypes(Source,{{"Month", type text}}),
    #"Added Custom" = Table.AddColumn(#"Changed Type", "Year", each if List.Contains({"Oct", "Nov", "Dec"}, [Month]) then 2020 else 2021),
    #"Added Custom1" = Table.AddColumn(#"Added Custom", "Custom", each Date.FromText([Month] & " " & Text.From([Year])))
in
    #"Added Custom1"

How to use M code provided in a blank query:
1) In Power Query, select New Source, then Blank Query
2) On the Home ribbon, select "Advanced Editor" button
3) Remove everything you see, then paste the M code I've given you in that box.
4) Press Done