Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

CongPham
Helper I
Helper I

Convert a text measure to a date time measure

Hi all,

I have a problem with my calendar table.

I create a max_date measure, and POWER BI undrestand it is a datetime value.

Same when I create a same_max_date_last_week = max_date - 7, and POWER BI undrestand it is a datetime value, too.

But when I create a same_max_date_last_month = DATEVALUE( EDATE( [max_date], -1 ) ) & " " & TIME ( 23,59,59), the POWER BI cannot undrestand it is a datetime value, only know the measure is a text value.

Please take a look at my screenshoot, and the file on the link below and give me some help.

(Sorry if I'm not good at English).

Many thank!

https://drive.google.com/open?id=1vKfr26yg0lTgJk1WMTY6QL-pT0iwocLR

2019-11-29_17-44-59.png

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

try like

CALCULATE( MAXx( ALLSELECTED( 'calendar'[Date] ), DATEADD('calendar'[Date_with_end_time_of_day],-1,MONTH) ) )

View solution in original post

5 REPLIES 5
amitchandak
Super User
Super User

If it is created as a measure, check if it can be created a column and data type can be changed in Model/table view under the modeling tab, once click on the column you will get the option.

Refer

https://community.powerbi.com/t5/Desktop/Changing-Data-Type-problem/td-p/58122

Appreciate your Kudos. In case, this is the solution you are looking for, mark it as the Solution. In case it does not help, please provide additional information and mark me with @
Thanks.

My Recent Blog - https://community.powerbi.com/t5/Community-Blog/Comparing-Data-Across-Date-Ranges/ba-p/823601

Thank for your help, but my problem is the measure cannot change to datetime value in Modeling tab.

May you download my file and have some looks?

@amitchandak