Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn the coveted Fabric Analytics Engineer certification. 100% off your exam for a limited time only!

Anonymous
Not applicable

Convert a single column to multiple table columns

I’m still fairly new at PBI, and find it’s a great tool, especially since we often work with millions of records, but I do have a situation I need some help with.

I have a table in which I may have one, none, or several identifiers for a given account:

Account               Identifier

ABC                        482

BCD                        538

BCD                        674

BCD                        926

CDE                       

DEF                        893

I’m trying to group the records by Account in a table, such that the Identifiers are in separate columns:

Account               Identifier1           Identifier2           Identifier3           Identifier4

ABD                       482

BCD                       538                         674                         926

CDE                       

DEF                        893

Any help would be greatly appreciated!

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

@Anonymous Steps to take in Edit Queries

1) Highlight "Value" column and under the Transform toolbar click "Unpivot Columns"

2) Go to Add Column tool bar - click "Index Column" (this will add an index column to your dataset

3) Highlight the Attribute and Index columns, right click and "Merge Columns" (Pick a delimiter)

4) Hightlight the Value and Merged columns, go back to the Transform toolbar, click "Pivot Column"

the "Value" column should be in the Values Column selector, click open Advanced options -> select "Don't Aggregate" from the dropdown. - click OK

Your output should look like this:

pivot.PNG

Looking for more Power BI tips, tricks & tools? Check out PowerBI.tips the site I co-own with Mike Carlo. Also, if you are near SE WI? Join our PUG Milwaukee Brew City PUG