Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

MarkSL
Helper V
Helper V

Convert Day Number to Day of Week

Hi,

I am new to Power BI and this is my first post, so apologies if I am asking something obvious!

I want to create a graph, showing a summary of bookings taken across a week, with the Day of the Week being on the X axis.  This will give the business an idea of patterns seen over a long period of time, eg Mondays are typically more busy that Fridays etc.

My imported dataset is already aggregated and contains a column 'BookingDayNo' which contains values 1 to 7.  I want to convert these values to Days of the Week, eg 1 = Sunday, 2 = Monday etc.  I want Power BI to recognise my data as Days Of the Week, so that when I graph it, the days are in the correct order along the X Axis and not alphabetical.   Eg Mon-Tue-Wed-Thu-Fri.

In Excel I would simply convert the numbers to Days using the special format code of 'DDD'.  Excel then recognises these as days and graphs them in the correct order.  

I have searched the forum and the nearest I can find is FORMAT(Dates[Date],"DDDD"), but my data is not at the transaction level and so I do not have a standard date to convert.  The originating dataset is over 100k rows, hence why it is already summarised in a stored procedure before being imported into Power BI.

Thoughts appreciated!

Also, hopefully a simple one, but when I am in the Power BI Desktop and I want to start something all over again, I can't seem to find a simple 'Close' option.  I can only see the option to Exit, which requires me to restart the software and sign back in again?

Thanks

Mark

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
Vvelarde
Community Champion
Community Champion

@MarkSL

Hi, select your column Day of Week after that go to Sort By Column ---Day No

Regards

Victor

Lima - Peru

Lima - Peru