Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

AverageAsker
Helper I
Helper I

Convert DateTimeOffset to DateTime

Hi, my data source is SQL table containing DateTimeOffset column, I need the date-time stored there to be displayed in the report as a date-time converted by using the time zone's offset stored in the column of another table, how do I do that? Or, to make the question simpler - how do I apply any date time conversion to the date time stored in a table's column while it is displayed in the report?

I am complete novice in Power BI, please give me a direction.

11 REPLIES 11
ImkeF
Super User
Super User

Have a look at DateTime.AddZone.

Or the other Date.Time functions in M.

If this doesn't help, please post pictures/examples of your data as it is not so clear to me what your exact requirement is.

Imke Feldmann (The BIccountant)

If you liked my solution, please give it a thumbs up. And if I did answer your question, please mark this post as a solution. Thanks!

How to integrate M-code into your solution -- How to get your questions answered quickly -- How to provide sample data -- Check out more PBI- learning resources here -- Performance Tipps for M-queries

Thanks, what/where do I do to insert that code? I am currently using Power BI Desktop, I clicked Get Data and then specified SQL Server, then provided connection info and imported the table I was interested in. My table User consists of few columns:

• CreatedDate (the data in this column stored in UTC.)
  • InternalIdentifier (string - unique value per row)
  • Type (contains few possible values of type TINYINT)

I want to see a chart(s) showing users' distribution in time (taking Type into accoun) where the Time will be converted to a certain offset.