Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

MrTWolff__

Convert 2010-2020 into Years

Hello Everybody!

This is my first post on the community. So, here I go.
I'm currently working on a dataset that I got from Kaggle, which is Netflix's popular movies and series, This dataset comes from the IMDB website data collected by using web scraping. 

I can't figure out a way to transform the dates of the series that range from a StartYear and EndYear in the cell into a date, they're in format text right now.  Generally, series dates vary from a Start and End Year; in some cases, some series only have (2019-), which means it's still on the air.
Is there a way that I can make them become actual dates instead of only text? 
Sorry if my question sounds stupid I'm quite new to powerBI, I'm still figuring out what the heck I'm doing,

Cheers Guys!!!!

MrTWolff___0-1665008724174.png

@https://www.kaggle.com/datasets/narayan63/netflix-popular-movies-dataset

2 ACCEPTED SOLUTIONS
Shaurya
Memorable Member
Memorable Member

Hi @MrTWolff__,

The first step to this would be to split your column into Start and End Year from the range format like 2002-2006.

Screenshot 2022-10-06 052512.jpg

You can choose '-' as the delimiter. This will give you two columns, one with start year and another with end year. Note that you'll get a null value in the second column for shows that have not yet ended like Stranger Things (Awaiting Finale🙂).

Now you have two columns with year but those would be strings. In order to convert them into dates, just select Date in the list of data types.

Screenshot 2022-10-06 052723.jpg

Result should look like this:

Screenshot 2022-10-06 053705.jpg

Works for you? Mark this post as a solution if it does!

View solution in original post

v-yueyunzh-msft
Community Support
Community Support