Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

Anonymous
Not applicable

Connection to a Visual FoxPro Database

Hi everyone,

I'm new in the Power Bi universe, I'm working with this software since 2 months, so I don't have a lot of experience.

I need to access a Visual FoxPro database in Power BI. Firstly I tried using the basic ODBC and OLE DB Drivers, but they are both in 32 bit and I need to work with the 64 bit version of Power BI. Then I found the "Microsoft.ACE.OLEDB.12.0" Driver, which works, I can read my data in Power BI, but I can't properly use the data gateway and I need it.

I installed my driver on my server ( exactly like I did for all the others drivers I use) and when I try to create the data source for the gateway I have an error. I tried to read my data by intalling Power BI Desktop on the server and it worked, so I don't think that I have a connection problem between my computer and the server. I'm searching for a solution since 2-3 weeks and I didn't find any, the only good advice I found is to check if the ports are open, but I've no idea of which ports... (https://youtu.be/Y9Dc7jd5VaI)

I saw that there is a lot of drivers like Advantage Database from iAnywhere or Devart ODBC Driver but none of them work for me, maybe I do something wrong.

I hope that someone can help me and that everybody understood my problem, English isn't my first language, I did my best to explain this.

Best regards, 

Alexandre Wahl

6 REPLIES 6
gabriel94mx

Hi,

I have the same problem and i can't make the connection, do you have any news about this post?

Hi!

Same here, trying desperately to connect BDF files to PowerQuery or PBI.

I've tried everything possible in 64b without success. Any updates about this post?

Best,

B.

gustavoleo
Helper II
Helper II