Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

Anonymous
Not applicable

Connecting Two Tables w/ Lookup

Hi Everyone,

This is my first time posting to this community, so forgive me if I'm not using proper etiquette or providing enough context; I will offer more context as requested, just go easy on me if I'm doing it wrong.

I'm a relatively new Power BI user (began working with Power BI at the beginning of September) and I'm experiencing issues connecting (joining) two tables together. The desired result is for me to be able to go to the canvas and pull the first name and last name from the Userlist table and also pull the Learning Plan and class name from the Learning Plans table.

I recognize that I don't have a direct relationship b/w these two tables, but that's why I'm reaching out to you all here. I know there needs to be a connection (column/foreign key), I'm just not sure what that looks like. The Usergroups table that the other two tables are connected to contains a unique list of the usergroup IDs (primary key) and the actual user groups.

image.pngAny and all suggestions are welcome and appreciated. I'm a willing learner, so please share the knowledge and expertise you have. Thanks in advance! 

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Hi @Anonymous,

I am assuming that there can be more than one row with the same Usergroup ID in Learning plans and you essentially want to join Learning Plans and Userlsist on the Usergroup ID. The relationships aren't much help in getting to a solution here but there are other ways. I am not sure if this is really the best solution, but if you want is to create a new table with a join between Learning Plans and Userlist, something like this could be a starting point. Click "New Table" and enter the following (or your edit of the same)

NewTable = 
VAR LPT =