Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

Anonymous
Not applicable

Connecting DATE table (Month/Year, WEEKNUM, etc.) to my other tables w/ disparate dates, efficiently

I'm fairly new to Power BI so this may be an easy one. I've spent a few days on the forum trying to find a clear answer to no avail.

I have a generic DATE table that I created (found online):

dancruth_0-1624907410167.png

I also have about a dozen other tables with financial information, each with a variety of dates (Billing StartDate, EndDate, FundedThruDate, WeedEnded, etc.). For example, one of those tables (BI-BillingRuleUpdate):

dancruth_1-1624907651881.png

I would like to find the most efficient way (I assume using a Measure) to populate these Financial tables (like BI-BillingRuleUpdate) with some of the columns from my DATE table, so that for StartDate (above), columns are created with Month of Year, WEEKNUM, etc. for that StartDate. E.g. for the first row (6/25/2018) I get columns that show StartDateMonth (June), StartDateWeekOfYear (26), etc. Then potentialy do the same thing for EndDate, FundedThruDate, etc., with the end goal of having my rows (of client billing amounts) grouped by weeks and months in my final chart/visual.

I've just been creating new columns in each table I want to do that in, but I'm not great with DAX and this way seems messy/inefficient to do for my dozens of tables. E.g.,

Month = MONTH('BI-BillingRuleUpdate'[EndDate])
and
Week of Year = WEEKNUM('BI-BillingRuleUpdate'[StartDate])

As you can see, I'm not "calling" my DATE table that I created here. I'm just using the MONTH and WEEKNUM expressions. I want to make use of my DATE table, efficiently!