Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

Confusion as to what columns I can use for measures and filters

I'm new to Power BI and DAX and I find something really confusing:

I cannot understand why I cannot use some columns in measures and filters.

Example:

If I have a table with:

CodeIndex

I can do measure = SUM([Code],[Index]) but if I use CONCATENATE() instead of SUM() it cannot find the [Code] and [Index] columns. Yet if I run the SUM([Code],[Index] as Measure 1 and then try to CONCATENATE() as Measure 2 it can find the Measure 1 column?

Next, I have a record table:

CustomerYearAcquisitionLoss

And a calendar table:

YearInitial ValueAcquisitionLoss

To calculate initial value per year I need to calculate the difference bewtween acquisitions and loss of the prior year. I attempt the following:

Initial Value = CALCULATE(record[acquisition]-record[loss], FILTER(ALL(record[Year]), record[Year]=[Year]-1))

However it cannot find the [Year] of my calendar table, even if I explicitely write calendar[Year]-1.

What's the problem with that? I'm really confused here.

10 REPLIES 10

@jesuisbenjamin wrote:

I cannot understand why I cannot use some columns in measures and filters.

What's the problem with that? I'm really confused here.

Power BI has a powerful Intellisense engine. It will not allow you to write invalid DAX. The formulas you describe are not valid - that is why you can't write them. 

This is valid

=calculate([measure], filter(all(table), table[column] = max(table[column])))

the following is not valid (which is why you can't write it)

=calculate([measure], filter(all(table), table[column] = table[column] -1))

* Matt is an 8 times Microsoft MVP (Power BI) and author of the Power BI Book Supercharge Power BI.

Hi Matt,

Thanks for this.