Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

Sabin-ASA
Regular Visitor

Confused about Power BI desktop and Power BI Pro

Hi All,

I am new to Microsoft Power BI and a bit confused about what license do I have. My subscription says I have access to Power BI Pro but when I log in and click the Power BI tab, it takes me to Power BI web and says to download Power BI Desktop for a better experience. I know the difference between Desktop and Pro is that reports produced on Desktop will be made public by Microsoft (that is what I read) which I don't want. So, my question is that how do I know if I have a Power BI Pro license?

Thank you for your help in advance.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Hi @Sabin-ASA ,

Premium Per user License is different from Power BI Pro license. Power BI Premium Per User allows organizations to license Premium features on a per-user basis. Premium Per User (PPU) includes all Power BI Pro license capabilities, and also adds features such as paginated reports, AI, and other capabilities that are only available to Premium subscribers.

For more you can refer to: Power BI Premium Per User 

And yes, If you want to use the full report creation capabilities of Power BI, you need to download Power BI Desktop.

Hope it helps,

Community Support Team _ Caitlyn

If this post helps then please consider Accept it as the solution to help the other members find it more quickly.

View solution in original post

8 REPLIES 8
Sabin-ASA
Regular Visitor

Hi guys,

Thank you to both of you. Much appreciated.

I followed your instruction and can see that I have Pro license. But it also says to start a trial. Not sure why is that.

SabinASA_0-1633769052301.png