Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

GarethW
Frequent Visitor

Conditional formatting of Matrix based on Total average

Hello

I am new to PowerBI and am in the process of migrating old manual reports to it.

One of these reports shows share of sales, by month (column) by product type (rows).

This has a heat map conditional format that compares any given cell (share of sales for a product for a month) to the total share of sales for that product for the total time period reported on. The under-index (lowest) starts from red, progresses to yellow (the same as the average) all the way up to green for the highest over-index against the average. So in the above, for row 1, April sees the highest index of purchases (4.8%) vs the total average for that product of 3.7%.

I have recreated the pivot-table as a matrix, which was simple enough.

But I can't find any way to match the same conditional formatting logic as my original excel pivot.

Is it even possible?

Thanks

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Hi @GarethW ,

First of all let me apologize for the late response I must have missed this post on the multiple notifications I have.

What I think I was abble to get it to work I have created 3 measures (this simplifies the tough process):

% per category/month =
DIVIDE (
    COUNT ( 'Table'[Region] );
    CALCULATE ( COUNT ( 'Table'[Region] ); ALLSELECTED ( 'Table'[Region] ) )
)

% Total/region =
VAR temp_table =
    FILTER (
        SUMMARIZE (
            ALLSELECTED ( 'Table' );
            'Table'[Region];
            "@count"; COUNT ( 'Table'[Region] )
        );
        'Table'[Region] = MAX ( 'Table'[Region] )
    )
VAR total_table =
    SUMMARIZE (
        ALLSELECTED ( 'Table' );
        'Table'[Region];
    )
RETURN
    DIVIDE ( SUMX ( temp_table; [@count] ); SUMX ( total_table; [@count] ) )