Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn the coveted Fabric Analytics Engineer certification. 100% off your exam for a limited time only!

Sjoer_D
Frequent Visitor

Conditional fill with "yes/no" of new column

Hi all,

I am very new to power BI and currently I am trying to make an analysis of a extensive list of projects starting in 2016 and running up to 2023.

I want to indicate if for certian projects there is already (most likely) a contract in place by observing the activity in the years 2016-2018. In a new column I want to indicate this with a " yes" if there is activity (on year basis), and if there is activity during 2016-2018 fill the table with a yes for the whole range of years.

What I know did was indicate per indivdual year if there is activity, how do I know make sure for my whole projects the answer is yes if ther was activty? 

I was able to do this in Excel (simple formula) however there also seems no easy way of copying that new column in to my power Bi query and if I try to load it as a new query and append it I get "null" values. 

help.jpg

The code used for the individual year basis:

let
    Source = Table.Combine({#"Meic-rigs", #"Europe-rigs", #"Apac-rigs", #"Americas-rigs", #"Africa-rigs"}),
    #"Added Custom" = Table.AddColumn(Source, "Likely contracted?", each if ([Year] = 2016 or [Year] = 2017 or [Year] = 2018) and [Days] > 0 then "Yes" else "No"),
    #"Changed Type" = Table.TransformColumnTypes(#"Added Custom",{{"Likely contracted?", type text}}),
    #"Inserted Text Between Delimiters" = Table.AddColumn(#"Changed Type", "Text Between Delimiters", each Text.BetweenDelimiters(Text.From([Asset Approval Year], "nl-NL"), "2", "0"), type text),
    #"Removed Columns" = Table.RemoveColumns(#"Inserted Text Between Delimiters",{"Text Between Delimiters"})
in
    #"Removed Columns"

Thank you very much for reading, looking forward to advise!

6 REPLIES 6
v-lili6-msft
Community Support