cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Helper II
Helper II

Conditional Left Parse

I am new to Power BI and need some help. I need to parse the left part of the column before the (-) but there are several fields where there is no dash. In these cases, I want it to parse the left part of the column before the (.) and if there is neither, I want it to give me the entire field. Any suggestions on how I can accomplish that?

Sample Data:

Capture.PNG

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
Community Champion
Community Champion

You didn't mention if you want the result in the same column or in a new column.

The query below includes both alternatives.

let
    Source = #table(type table[PART_ID = text],{{"12-3983.98u"},{"897.yfdwhv"},{"jhjkkjygw"}}),

Added = Table.AddColumn(Source, "ParsedPart", each if Text.Contains([PART_ID],"-") then Text.BeforeDelimiter([PART_ID],"-") else Text.BeforeDelimiter([PART_ID],".")),

Transformed = Table.TransformColumns(Added,{{"PART_ID", each if Text.Contains(_,"-") then Text.BeforeDelimiter(_,"-") else Text.BeforeDelimiter(_,".")}})
in
    Transformed

This is how step "Added" looks like in the Query Editor with the popup for adding a custom column:

Conditional parse.png

Specializing in Power Query Formula Language (M)

View solution in original post

2 REPLIES 2
Community Champion
Community Champion

You didn't mention if you want the result in the same column or in a new column.

The query below includes both alternatives.

let
    Source = #table(type table[PART_ID = text],{{"12-3983.98u"},{"897.yfdwhv"},{"jhjkkjygw"}}),

Added = Table.AddColumn(Source, "ParsedPart", each if Text.Contains([PART_ID],"-") then Text.BeforeDelimiter([PART_ID],"-") else Text.BeforeDelimiter([PART_ID],".")),

Transformed = Table.TransformColumns(Added,{{"PART_ID", each if Text.Contains(_,"-") then Text.BeforeDelimiter(_,"-") else Text.BeforeDelimiter(_,".")}})
in
    Transformed