Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

Anonymous
Not applicable

Compute the Number of Interns Using Start Date and End Date and be able to Filter by Unit and Region

Hi People,

I am new to power BI. My issue is below: I want to be able to computer the number of interns present in the company using start date and end date and then also be able to filter by units, regions, internship_type, gender etc. Searching in this community, I found a measure able to do that as below (calculating the number present in a month):

number_of_interns_present_count = 

VAR endOfPeriod = MAX ( 'DimDate'[Date] ) 

VAR startOfPeriod = MIN( 'DimDate'[Date] )
RETURN
    CALCULATE (
        COUNTROWS ( 'internship interns' ),
        FILTER (
            ALL('internship interns'),
               ( 'internship interns'[effective_start_date] <= endOfPeriod
                         && 'internship interns'[effective_end_date] >= startOfPeriod)
        )
    )

However, my challenge now is that "number_of_interns_present_count" is same for all Units and Regions

Below is my model. Notice that I deactivated the relationship betweem DimDate and Interns effective start date thinking that was the problem but no change. When I am doing a simple count of interns and link DimDate to effective_start_date, I am able to get the number of interns starting in a particular month by Unit and Region when you select a month on the slicer. Please how can I filter by department, unit, gender, internship type etc for this case. For each of these filters the number of interns present is thesame through out. It is not splitted by any of the above.

Sample Model.PNG

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
TeigeGao
Solution Sage
Solution Sage

Hi @Anonymous ,