Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

ustas55
Helper I
Helper I

Compound RLS

Good Day Professionals,

I'm relatively new to Power BI, so please excuse my basic (if that) question.

Looking for advice on how to achieve/implement dual RLS mode.

In my simple example, let's say there're 3 Customers, and every Customer has a dedicated (current) Sales Rep. Those customers made a sale. However, when transaction was made, it was associated with other Sales Reps. 

I've created a simple star schema model and need to create 2 reports: first to dispalay sales informattion based on the current Rep associated with the Customer, other report should display sales based on the Rep who made a transaction. 

Esentially, Rep 2 from Customer should see $200, while Rep 2 on Transaction should see $500.

RLS.jpg

Thank you in advance for your time on think about this.

Sam

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Hi @ustas55 ,

Please refer to my .PBIX file.

aaa7.PNGaaa8.PNGaaa9.PNG

Best regards,
Lionel Chen

If this post helps, then please consider Accept it as the solution to help the other members find it more quickly.

View solution in original post

7 REPLIES 7
v-lionel-msft
Community Support
Community Support

Hi @ustas55 ,

Like this?

aa12.PNG

Please refer to my .pbix file.

.pbix file 

Best regards,
Lionel Chen

If this post helps, then please consider Accept it as the solution to help the other members find it more quickly.

Hi Lionel,

Thank you.

Sort-of like that. However, when running under Rep-3, I'm getting Sales for Rep-2.

RLS-1.jpg

My dilemma, I guess, is that security has to be “dual” and independent mode. First, (Master data report) has to filter Reps on the Customer table (like in your sample model). Second (transactional),  has to be on the Rep table.

Best Regards,

Sam

Hi @ustas55 ,