Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn the coveted Fabric Analytics Engineer certification. 100% off your exam for a limited time only!

mapko
Helper I
Helper I

Complex comparative analysis using DAX

All,

I am completely new to PBI and have a challenge to resolve. Let's assume I have the following data set:

Column 1: Company name

Column 2: Sales

Column 3: Industry

Let's also assume I have 10 companies within 2 industries. Rather simple data set.

I need to create 2 reports whereby table 1 is showing sales (sum of sales) information related to a selected company and table 2 is showing sales (average of sales) information to companies that are within the same industry but excluding the selected company for table 1 analysis. Also, I would like to have the ability to manually exclude remaining companies from the average calculation (table 2) by deselecting them from a filter object.

For example: (assuming companies 1 - 5 are in the same industry)

Selected company: 1

Table 1 shows sum of sales for company 1

Table 2 shows average of sales for companies 2 - 5

If I deselect company 4 from the industry peer group then table 2 should show average of sales for companies 2, 3, and 5

Any help will be appreciated!

3 REPLIES 3
AlexChen
Employee
Employee

Hi,

I assume you have a table like below:

1.png

1.  Create a measure to get sum of sales in  the selected industry excluding the selected company.

allExceptSum = CALCULATE(sum(companySales[sales]),ALLEXCEPT(companySales,companySales[industry]))-CALCULATE(SUM(companySales[sales]),ALLSELECTED(companySales[company name]))

2. Create a measure to get count of company in the selected industry excluding the selected company.

allExceptCount = CALCULATE(distinctcount(companySales[company name]),ALLEXCEPT(companySales,companySales[industry]))-CALCULATE(DISTINCTCOUNT(companySales[company name]),ALLSELECTED(companySales[company name]))