Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

Anonymous
Not applicable

Complex Matrix - is this even possible??

Hi,

I'm trying to replicate an Excel matrix of data using Power BI. I'm very new to PowerBI and have probably bitten off more than I can chew as my first project, haha.

The data I'm trying to replicate is HSE data similar to the pic below:

Tar = Target; Act = ActualTar = Target; Act = Actual

Data for this table comes out of reports I have created in a company HSE system as *.csv files. I send these off to a SharePoint library and from there I am using PBI to grab them and reshape them. The *.csv files are broken up into:

- each Type (ie Type 1, Type 2, ...) is a separate file

- Events is a separate file

- People is a separate file, and

- Targets will be a separate file but isn't as yet.

To date, I've managed to clean the Types and Append these together, then using DAX do an 'Events' COUNTROWS against this one Appended dataset but that's as far as I gotten and have a few questions before I go any further ie:

- Is it possible that when I filter by 'Selected Month' I can show 'Selected Month' and 'YTD' values in the same matrix?

- Not matter how I filter, always show ALL People in the Names dataset and ALL Types?

- For certain Types (eg Type 1 & Type 2) NOT show Events data (because these aren't reqd measures)?

- Create in Matrix calculated column for 'Event target' based on YTD Actual * %  eg Name1 Type 3 'Event target' = 9 x 0.4 = 3.6

- conditional formatting through matrix of Target vs Actual

I realise that this is fairly complex but I'm keen to see if it can be done and whether I can do it. Any and all help greatly appreciated.

Cheers

3 REPLIES 3
CheenuSing
Community Champion
Community Champion

Hi @Anonymous ,