Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

sps-reporter
Helper II
Helper II

Complex Calculations in Measure table

I am relatively new to Power BI and have gotten in over my head. I like that it is easy to basic tasks but stuck on more complex calculations. I am trying to analyze a production system where people work on two shifts (Day,Night) and produce widgets. I would like to compare shift average widget production to individual shift average production then normalized by the number of shifts each person worked as compared to the average hours work against individual hours worked. Here is a sample production log:

Annotation 2020-07-28 083729.png

I can get the result that I want but my model is probably too messed up since the result does not change when I change the date

Annotation 2020-07-28 083633.png

This is my model:

Widget Data ModelWidget Data Model

I'm not asking anyone to solve this problem for me but would be interested in anyone pointing out bad habits or recommend a path to good practices. Thanks

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

@sps-reporter there are many external tools available to document power bi files. Here is such a tool.

I would  Kudos if my solution helped. 👉 If you can spend time posting the question, you can also make efforts to give Kudos whoever helped to solve your problem. It is a token of appreciation!

Visit us at https://perytus.com, your one-stop-shop for Power BI-related projects/training/consultancy.

Subscribe to the @PowerBIHowTo YT channel for an upcoming video on List and Record functions in Power Query!!

Learn Power BI and Fabric - subscribe to our YT channel - Click here: @PowerBIHowTo