Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

ptmuldoon
Helper II
Helper II

Complete Newbie looking for direction

Hello, and hoping someone could help me in getting started with Power Bi, particularly with pulling in and manipulating data from a SAS Cube, hopefully dynamically.

As a little background, I feel I am a pretty well skilled at Excel, having built numerous reports and dashboards by pulling in information from a SAS connection using CubeFormula's.  And also have some decent skills at VBA scripting including custom menus with RibbonX.

For example, I have various reports that connect to a SAS cube, and then dynamically pull in sales data, etc by simply changing the value of the 'department', 'date', or changing between actuals, budget, forecast, etc.    Basically building a CubeValue formula that just reads the values in other cells (dropdown lists, etc)  And have combined that with various sliders and other tools in making some dynamic dashboards for the end user.  

And now I have recently been introduced to Power Bi, and still very new to it.  I have not needed to use either Power Pivot or Power Query in the past, so learning how these work with Power Bi is still a bit new as well.

One of my end goals is to build a few live reports built in Power Bi that connect to the SAS cube where the user can choose divisions, departments, etc filter and see the data they are looking for.

I'm also open to any recommended books, especially if they help show and explain how to pull and manipulate SAS Cube data.  That is how I learned most of my VBA.  IMO nothing beats a good book/tutorial.

3 REPLIES 3

Thank you for the various links and book recommedations and I hope to begin watching and reading up on them soon.