Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn the coveted Fabric Analytics Engineer certification. 100% off your exam for a limited time only!

DLimerick
Regular Visitor

Comparing data by week and the same week number from a previous year.

I have a table in PBI with date annd have extracted the year and week number for each date into separate columns.

I can graph my data which counts all created records by week and I have a slicer that will allow me to select a year- all good. Columns are Created_date, Week No. and Year.

However I need to be able to plot the previous years data for the same weekly periods from the prior year on the same graph and this is where I am running into trouble. I am new to PBI and a little lost. I gather I need to create new measures?

so For example if I select 2018 for created records it shows me by week all 2018 records and also all 2017 records for the same week number.

Any help or guidance would be greatly appreciated.

9 REPLIES 9
v-juanli-msft
Community Support
Community Support

Hi @DLimerick

Measure here can get the same value for the same week last year

Measure = CALCULATE(MAX([Created_date]),SAMEPERIODLASTYEAR(Sheet1[Created_date]))

1.png

Best Regards

Maggie

Thank you Maggie,

However what I am looking to do is to determine the week number of each date from the previous year. for example 7th Januuary 2017 might be week number 1 in 2017 and 7th January 2018 might be week number 2. I want to compare all dates in week one last year with all dates in week 1 this year. I hope that makes sense.

Hi @DLimerick

Yes, after nodifying this formula with the following one , it can make sense for your example.

Measure = CALCULATE(MAX([Week No.]),SAMEPERIODLASTYEAR(Sheet1[Created_date]))

1.png

Best Regards

Maggie

Thank you Maggie,