Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

GJUDGE
Helper II
Helper II

Comparing Periods in the same table

I am sure this is a fairly straightforward problem for most but I'm fairly new to Power BI and any help is appreciated!

I have a single table that compiles monthly reporting information. I want to be able to calculate the difference between current month Output and Previous Month Output. What I can't figure out is how to do this dynamically so that each time a new month is added, the measure will compare the max reporting period with the max minus one?

Thanks in advance!

ProjectReporting PeriodOutput
A01/01/2021100
B01/01/202180
C01/01/2021150
A01/02/2021120
B01/02/202190
C01/02/2021140
A01/03/2021110
B01/03/202195
C01/03/2021140
 etc.  

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Hi @GJUDGE 

You can use Edate() function to get last period, for example, 

Last Period = 
    var _currentDate=MAX('table'[date])
    var _lastDate=EDATE(_currentDate,-1)
return 
    CALCULATE(SUM('table'[Output]),'table'[date]=_lastDate)

vxiaotang_0-1634626372555.png

Kindly note:  Edate() function has some limitations,

vxiaotang_1-1634626438807.png

If you can't use Edate() on some occasions, you can try this measure,

Last Period = 
    var _maxDate=MAX('table'[date])
    var _lastDate=DATE(YEAR(_maxDate),MONTH(_maxDate)-1,1)
return 

vxiaotang_2-1634626624400.png

Best Regards,

Community Support Team _Tang

If this post helps, please consider Accept it as the solution to help the other members find it more quickly.

View solution in original post

18 REPLIES 18
jppv20
Solution Sage
Solution Sage

hI @GJUDGE ,

You can create this measure:

OutputDifference =
var Output = SUM('Table'[Output])
var OutputLastPeriod = CALCULATE(SUM('Table'[Output]),ALLEXCEPT('Table','Table'[Project]),PREVIOUSMONTH('Table'[Reporting Period]))