Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

RobinW2
Regular Visitor

Comparing Daily Trend Year On Year

Hi there,

I hope you're well.  I am new to Power BI and trying to buid a graph that would compare a daily trend for Internet traffic with a month on month comparison. 

I used a DAX formula with a PARALLELPERIOD for the previous month's comparison but it is aggregating the sessions at the month level for the trendline (i.e. for each day of May it returns the May sum). 

It would be great if anyone could help me with this, I would like to get the previous month's comparison as a daily trend.

Thanks for your help!

Issue.PNG

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
v-micsh-msft
Employee
Employee

Hi RobinW2,

According to your description, I suppose you are using the following formula to generate the Lastmonth measure?

Comparison_before := calculate(sum('Table'[comparison]), PARALLELPERIOD('Table'[Date],-1,MONTH))

Please take a try to switch the PARALLELPERIOD function to DATEADD, then check to see if this would make it work.

Comparison_before := calculate(

sum('Table'[comparison]),

DATEADD('Table'[Date],-1,MONTH)

)

Regards

View solution in original post

7 REPLIES 7
v-micsh-msft
Employee
Employee

Hi RobinW2,

According to your description, I suppose you are using the following formula to generate the Lastmonth measure?

Comparison_before := calculate(sum('Table'[comparison]), PARALLELPERIOD('Table'[Date],-1,MONTH))

Please take a try to switch the PARALLELPERIOD function to DATEADD, then check to see if this would make it work.

Comparison_before := calculate(

sum('Table'[comparison]),

DATEADD('Table'[Date],-1,MONTH)

)

Regards

Hi Michael,

I hope you're well. Thanks a lot for your answer, this the problem!

Have a good day.

Robin.

Hi everyone,