Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn the coveted Fabric Analytics Engineer certification. 100% off your exam for a limited time only!

EikeMaas
Frequent Visitor

Compare two sets of data using two slicers in one visualization.

I hope I'm using the correct terminology - but I'm very new to this software, so please teach me the right way!

What I'd like to do is use two slicers to define two sets of data from one table, and then compare the respective averages of each set to the other.

For example:

PROJECT NAME | SQFT | PRICE
Project 1 | 500 | $400
Project 2 | 1,500 | $1,100
Project 3 | 300 | $300
Project 4 | 900 | $700

If Slicer 1 on a page is set to "Project 1 & Project 2", and Slicer 2 is set to "Project 3 & Project 4", I want a Clustered Column Chart that displays the averages for each column of Project 1 & Project 2 vs the averages for each column of Project 3 & Project 4.

So I'd like to see:

"Avg (Project 1 & Project 2)" | 1,000 | $750     vs.    "Avg (Project 3 & Project 4)" | 600 | $500

Where the two clusters are SQFT and PRICE, and each cluster has a column for "Avg (Project 1 & Project 2)" and "Avg (Project 3 & Project 4)" respectively.

I hope that makes sense... I'm still learning all of the terminology, let alone the tricks to getting the data to perform the way I want it to. It really made searching for an answer difficult, so I'd appreciate any help you could lend. 

Thanks,
Eike

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

@EikeMaas

You could also use another approach. It's similar to the one presented above but you'd need to create two inactive relationships:

a) Between Slicer1[PROJECT NAME] and Table1[PROJECT NAME]

b) Between Slicer2[PROJECT NAME 2] and Table1[PROJECT NAME]

We would then use the following measures that make use of USERELATIONSHIP  instead of TREATAS. The rest is the same as in the previous approach

Group1_Sqft = 
CALCULATE (
    AVERAGE ( Table1[SQFT] );