Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

turkiewiczmarta
Regular Visitor

Compare single row to total set's Nth percentile

Hi Everyone 🙂 I'm quite new to Power BI and this community, so hoping someone here will be able to help me out.

My usecase is that I have a set with multiple product codes, each of them with 2 calculated metrics - X and Y. I want to know how individual rows (products) perform vs. 80th percentile of the total set in respective metrics. 

So, using the example below:

turkiewiczmarta_0-1653658471683.png

I was able to calculate the whole set's 80th percentiles (which differ depending on what I choose on my slicer), for Apparel category they are as follows:

Metric X 80th percentile: 206

Metrix Y 80th percentile: 25%

As a result I would like to be able to determine whether a single products falls "above" or "below" the thresholds (percentiles) and consequently clusterise them respectively. For instance, if a product is above total set's X 80th percentile and above total set's Y 80th percentile, I want to call it a "Star" (as it's among top 20% values in both metrics). And similarly for the 3 other options (above X + below Y, below X + above Y, below X + below Y).

These have to be calculated dynamically according to slicers I apply, as the benchmarks will differ between categories (Apparel, Footwear, Hardware), and I always want to grasp top 20% values in the setup I choose. 

Is that something I can do in Power BI? 

Thank you in advance for your support!

2 ACCEPTED SOLUTIONS
sturlaws
Resident Rockstar
Resident Rockstar

Hi,