Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

Anonymous
Not applicable

Combining multiple Google Analytics Queries give different results

Hi,

I'm fairly new to PowerBI. I am trying to create a dashboard based on Google Analytics data through the GA API. For my report I need more than 10 metrics. I quickly noticed that the limit is set at 10 and thus would make things harder. I try to solve it by creating multiple GA queries and after that I would like to merge them. This seems to be allowed and thus could work. This is the idea:

Query 1: Date, Campaign name, Source/Medium, Sessions, Pageviews, Users, ExitPage, Goal completions, (and some more)

Query 2: Date, Campaign name, Source/Medium, Page, Device Category, Avg time on page, Gender

Query 3: Date, Campaign name, Source/Medium, Latitude, Longitude

I would expect these queries to be of the same lenght (same # rows) as I use several similar dimensions. However, they are all of different sizes. This makes merging the queries impossible as I have a lot of null data. 

I also checked if the big queries display the same numbers as GA itself. It does not. Image below displays on the left a query with only Pageviews and on the right a query combined with other metrics (Query 1):

Jordy_0-1624023241080.png

The number on the left is identical to GA.com but the right is not.

What should I do differently? 

5 REPLIES 5
v-jingzhang
Community Support
Community Support

Hi @Anonymous