Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

Anonymous
Not applicable

Combine two, essentially similar yet disparate queries to display in one chart

Hi. I've posted this already in an existing question of mine, but fear it's lost in the wash so asking again. I'm still new to PBI and my SQL is adequate but not expert by any stretch, and I'm in need of help. 

I have two queries: one showing all interactions recorded for an individual over a time frame, and another showing the number of staff that were at work over the same time frame. 

Query 1 - individual interactions

Screenshot 2020-07-23 at 10.28.05.png

Duration is a Duration datatype, showing minutes. "Slot" is a conditional column that assigns 12-2am, 2am-4am, 4am-6am......8pm-10pm, 10pm-12am depending on the interaction Date and Time. Slot is then set to sort by Custom, which is another conditional column that shows 1 - 12 depending on the two-hour Slot, in order for it to show in the right order on the chart. 

Query 2 - staff on duty

There is no data I can utilise that says "between 10pm and 12am, X staff were on duty". I only have start date/time, finish date/time. With the help of others, I created a query that shows me this data:

Screenshot 2020-07-23 at 10.36.53.png

TimeOrder is a conditional column that says ie 'if [HourPeriod] = "0-1" then "12am-2am"', all the way through to 23-0. This was done to make the data similar to Query 1. Order is a sorting column that converts 12am-2am = 1, 2am-4am=2 etc so that it too displays properly on the chart. (I still think it's rubbish that PBI cannot account for these without silly workarounds, but there we go). I added another custom column, Custom, to convert the date from Started but really this serves no purpose.