Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

Anonymous
Not applicable

Combine ALL() and FILTER() to remove rows

Dear all, 

I am relatively new to PowerBI and I am having some trouble understanding what criteria uses PowerBI to display or hide rows. 

Let's assume the following dummy data about sales:

CountryTable:

country_idcountry
1Spain
2Netherlands
3Germany

SalesTable:

sale_idcountry_idprovinceamount_euros
12A50
22B100
33C20

Both this tables are related by the country field with "direction" set to "Both". 

1. If I create a matrix with:

Rows: CountryTable.country

Values: SalesTable.amount_euros

Then, in the result table, PowerBI is omitting Spain, since it doesn't have any sales.

Now I want to do the same with the following calculation and I cannot understand why in this case PowerBI is displaying Spain. I want it to not show up:

2. I want to create a measure that displays the sum of amount_euros for provinces A and C, (but not filtered by country, so using the ALL() function). In other words, I want the following table:

countrynew_measure
Netherlands70
Germany70

If I do:

new_measure = 

VAR _table = FILTER (

ALL (SalesTable),

SalesTable[province] = "A" || SalesTable[province] = "C"

)

RETURN SUMX ( _table, [amount_euros] ) 

PowerBI is displaying:

countrynew_measure
Netherlands70
Germany70
Spain70

Isn't the filter of province supposed to "propagate"? Spain is not even showing up in the sales so Province is neither A or C...

Thank you very much in advance

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Hi,

You may download my PBI file from here.

Hope this helps.

Untitled.png

Regards,
Ashish Mathur
http://www.ashishmathur.com
https://www.linkedin.com/in/excelenthusiasts/

View solution in original post

5 REPLIES 5
Ashish_Mathur
Super User
Super User

Hi,

Hope this helps.

Untitled.png