Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

Stuquan
Frequent Visitor

Column not reacting to Slicer DAX

Hi everyone,

I'm fairly new to PowerBi; starting to get the hang of it but I'm having trouble finding any article/help on my particular issue, I'll try be as succint as possible.

Basically, I have a sum'd column not reacting to a particular slicer called 'Status'. I have two columns showing different amounts, Column 'Sum_Per_Week' is correctly reacting when I apply the slicer, this is a measure column. Column '£_Sum' is not reacting correctly, this is a column using a Summarize & Sum function (I believe this is a virtual table but correct me if I'm wrong).

The overall issue is that, the cumulative value column is showing the incorrect figure because it references my '£_Sum' column (and I cannot change the column reference to 'Sum_Per_Week' in the 'Cumulative_Value' formula, it can't seem to find reference to it, I believe DAX can't reference a measure column inside another measure?)

Here's a link to my project: https://www.dropbox.com/s/x8wdt8otx1hlt13/CH%20Link2.0.pbix?dl=0

I'd greatly appreciate any advice and/or help.

Many thanks,

Stewart

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

@Stuquan gotcha.  Looking at your file right now.  This is overcomplicated because you don't have a date table.  I would strongly recommend that you create one and mark it appropriately.  If you do that, there's no need to create a virtual table for the visualization...just a couple very simple measures.  There really isn't a need for a virtual table at all.  But your measures would be simpler than what you're currntly working with.

Someone else could probably create the measures you're looking for but your real, underlying problem is the data model itself.

View solution in original post

5 REPLIES 5
littlemojopuppy