Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn the coveted Fabric Analytics Engineer certification. 100% off your exam for a limited time only!

Anonymous
Not applicable

Column Chart/Trend Line

I have a fact table with sales data which includes a SalesPeriod value. A related SalesPeriod table contains the SalesPeriodID that ties back to the Sales table and includes a "DateOfSales" column which is a datetime. When I add a column visualization, I would like to be able to add a trend line, but do not see that option under the Formatting tab.

Note, there is one row in the SalesPeriod table per month where the DateOfSales values are the 1st of each month (all sales occur in a given month.year, aggregated in the data I am provided). I have select Continuous for the X-Axis type (which is the date field) and get expected results, but do not see a Trend Line option using the latest PowerBI desktop update.

I'm pretty new to this, so must be missing something obvious, but cannot figure this one out!

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

I recorded a quick video (see below) to explain my answer.
I was able to add a trend line using a Sample Data Set I created based on your question.
Check out the video below.
Download my solution PBIX file attached

Power On!
-Avi Singh

YouTube, Facebook, Twitter, Web

View solution in original post

4 REPLIES 4

I recorded a quick video (see below) to explain my answer.
I was able to add a trend line using a Sample Data Set I created based on your question.
Check out the video below.
Download my solution PBIX file attached

Power On!
-Avi Singh

YouTube, Facebook, Twitter, Web