Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

Anonymous
Not applicable

Column Bar Chart Split from the same data?

Good morning.  I am working on a chart with some crime data.  My boss would like a column chart showing crime data for the previous day and the current day, but he would also like to see a comparison of week over week or day over day for a week’s period.  My data comes from an SQL query to an external DB and is from 2015 to present.  Hence when I place the crime type into the Axis/Value I am unsure how to then split that data into two separate time frames to meet the request for day over day and week over week view. 

I am a beginner on this tool so I do not know DAX or other more sophisticated mechanisms to deal with the data, but am willing to explore and learn. 

Hopefully this makes sense.  Thank you. 

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Hi @Anonymous ,

First, create an unrelated calendar table as slicer.

DimDate = ADDCOLUMNS(CALENDAR("20/04/2020","28/05/2020"),"week", WEEKNUM([Date]))

test_newtable.PNG

Create measures to filter data from previous week and previous day.

test_new measure.PNG

last_day = IF(MAX('Table'[date])<=SELECTEDVALUE(DimDate[Date])&&MAX('Table'[date])>=SELECTEDVALUE(DimDate[Date])-1,1,0)
Last Week = 
VAR CURRENT_WEEK = SELECTEDVALUE(DimDate[week])
VAR CURRENT_YEAR = YEAR(SELECTEDVALUE(DimDate[Date]))
RETURN 
IF(MAX('Table'[week])<=CURRENT_WEEK&&MAX('Table'[week])>=CURRENT_WEEK-1&&YEAR(MAX('Table'[date]))=CURRENT_YEAR,1,0

)

test_Column Bar Chart Split from the same dat.PNG

Best Regards,
Liang
If this post helps, then please consider Accept it as the solution to help the other members find it more quickly.

View solution in original post

6 REPLIES 6
V-lianl-msft
Community Support
Community Support

Hi @Anonymous ,