Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

Ros-ec
Helper I
Helper I

Collecting the last 12 months sales for each month using powerbi table

Hi,

I did a post earlier, but can't seem to find it to connect to it, or edit it. Therefore apologies for another one, but it is a different question on the same line! I am new to PowerBI having done a course and also familiar with Excel for years.

I am tring to collate the 12 months sales at the end of each month. In Excel I did a turnover column:

=SUMIFS(G:G,D:D,"<="&EOMONTH(D2,0),D:D,">"&EOMONTH(D2,-12),I:I,"="&I2)

Where:

G=sales amount

D= sales date

I = client identifier

And that worked to give me the sales per client for the last 12 months for each month. 12 months sales from August 2022, 12 months sales from July 2022, 12 months sales from June 2022 and so on

In PowerBI I have the same data fields pulled through from Excel, and added a measure to try and do a similar thing - but its not working:

Turnover Test = calculate(sum('Sales Data'[Amount]),'Sales Data'[Date]>=EOMONTH('Sales Data'[Date],-12) &&'Sales Data'[Date]<eomonth('Sales Data'[Date],0))

Any help welcomed ... and thank you.

Best wishes Ros

3 ACCEPTED SOLUTIONS
Ashish_Mathur
Super User
Super User

Hi,

Create a Calendar Table and write calculated column formulas to Extract Year, Month name and Month number.  Sort the Month name by the Month number column.  Create a relationship (Many to One and Single) from the Date column of your Data Table to the Date column of your Calendar Table.  To your visua, drag Year and Month name from the Calendar Table.  Write these measures:

Total = sum('Sales Data'[Amount])

Running total in past 12 months = calculate([total],datesbetween(calendar[date],edate(min(calendar[date]),-11),max(calendar[date])))

Hope this helps.

Regards,
Ashish Mathur