Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn the coveted Fabric Analytics Engineer certification. 100% off your exam for a limited time only!

Zepher

Collect Data From Multiple Users and Visualize in Power Bi

Hello guys!
Sorry for the banal question, but I'm not an expert of all Microsoft technology, I just use Power BI.
I need to configure a process where I collect multiple feedback from multiple users and visualize the result in Power BI (publish in web).
It's like a massive multiple survey.
Could you suggest me some flexible and cheap Microsoft tools to do this? At the moment I'm using a different Excel file for any users, but it isn't a smart solution! 😂

Thank you very much!

7 REPLIES 7
edhans
Super User
Super User

Excel is the worst data source for Power BI because users can delete columns, add columns, merge cells, etc. Horrible.

Assuming you have Office 365, you can use:

• Microsoft Forms (it uses an Excel file as the backend but the user never touches it directly, and it is a nice Excel table)
  • SharePoint Lists - very structured and hard for users to mess up, especially if you put a Power Apps front end on it to lock down what they can enter. For example, you can have a column that is a percent, but SharePoint Lists will not easily let you limit it to a certian format. For example, what is 1.25? 1.25% or 125%? Power Apps can help you limit it.

There are other possibilities like Common Data Source, Azure SQL, etc, but now you are getting into "not cheap" data sources.

Did I answer your question? Mark my post as a solution!
Did my answers help arrive at a solution? Give it a kudos by clicking the Thumbs Up!

DAX is for Analysis. Power Query is for Data Modeling

Proud to be a Super User!

MCSA: BI Reporting

Thank you very much for your suggestions!

I know Excel is terrible for this task, but i had to start the process. Executive Board decision!