Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

sguenther
Advocate II
Advocate II

Cohort Analysis

Hello,

I would like to create a cohort analysis, showing the activity of users (grouped by signup month) over time. Therefore I could use the custom Heat-map visualization. The only thing I need is a table showing the number logins by user groups for each month. I was able to set this up in excel, but I'm relatively new to DAX, so I'm not really sure how to do this.

What I have is a table with all logins and the the user signup date (transformed to startofmonth) for each login (and created an additional column (cohort) which gives me the cohort number: 1 (for Jan 14) - 23 (for Nov 15). I set up a custom table with all the cohorts and the start dates of each cohort. I also created another seperate date table and linked all three via date. I set up a measure:

Activity per Month= CALCULATE(COUNTA('activity'[login]), FILTER(ALL(Dates[Date]), AND((YEAR(Dates[Date]) = MAX(Dates[Year])) , (MONTH(Dates[Date]) = MAX(Dates[Month])))))

This gives me the number of logins per Month. But what i need is the number of logins for each cohort. My idea was to set up a measure for each cohort. But I don't know how to set up the filter correctly. I think that I need to filter in the date table and the activity table (for the cohort). Something like this:

Activity per Month cohort 1= CALCULATE(COUNTA('activity'[login]), FILTER('activity'[login] , 'activity'[cohort] =  1) && FILTER(ALL(Dates[Date]), AND((YEAR(Dates[Date]) = MAX(Dates[Year])) , (MONTH(Dates[Date]) = MAX(Dates[Month])))))

But of course this doesn't work. Any ideas?

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

You could try: