Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn the coveted Fabric Analytics Engineer certification. 100% off your exam for a limited time only!

Anonymous
Not applicable

Clustered Column Chart: add latest month available as a column

Hi there,

I am fairly new to PowerBI and I'm having trouble with my clustered column chart.

In my report, this clustered column chart is built as follows:

- Axis: categories

- Value: amounts in euro

- Legend: date < year (from a date hierarchy)

This means that I now have one column representing 2018 and one column representing 2019 YTD.

Next, I would like to have a third column that represents the data from the latest full month available. For example, in my data, the most recent full month that was uploaded is May 2019. I would like to have a column that represents May 2019 next to the 2018 FY and the 2019 YTD ones.

There is also data from June 2019, but this isn't relevant before the month-end closing. However, once month-end closing is done, it would be great if the column can show June 2019 instead of May 2019 automatically.

Is there any way to do this?

Thanks!

2 REPLIES 2
Anonymous
Not applicable

Hi @Anonymous, I would need to know how you determine when is a full month. It may be:

• If I get a register with the last day of the month.
  • By a custom table from your business.
  • Not counting the weekend days.

And you wrote this "it would be great if the column can show June 2019 instead of May 2019 automatically." I think you mean the contrary, right?

Anonymous
Not applicable

Hi @Anonymous 

Thanks for the reply!

A full month would be when there is a register/line that has the last day of the month as posting date, but indeed not counting the weekend days because there will be no data during weekends (good thinking).