cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Reply
PabloHoney Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor

Clearing a Bookmark View to current page version

Frequent Visitor
Clearing a Bookmark View to current page version

I am using bookmarks to navigate between report tabs so that when I embed my report the user experience is better. I have two questions:

 

1) If I save a bookmark to a page and then update that page, the bookmark goes to the OLD version rather than the current version. Is there a way to have the bookmark go to the CURRENT version of my tab all the time?

 

2) When I click the bookmark in the desktop editor, it takes me the to OLD bookmarked version of the page. How do I get out of this view and back to the current version? Once I am in the bookmarked view of that tab, navigating away and coming back by clicking the tab only shows the bookmarked view rather than my current working version of the page.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Super User IV
Super User IV

Re: Clearing a Bookmark View to current page version

Hello @PabloHoney 

Bookmarks are great but they can be frustrating to work with.  When you make a change to the page that you want the bookmark to point to you have to update the bookmark.  

Open the Bookmarks Pane under Open > View.

Hold your mouse over the bookmark you want to update (don't click).  If you move your mouse over the ... at the end of the name you should see the note "More Options".  

When you see more options clicking on the ... will open the menu where you can select "Update" and that bookmark will be pointing at the new view.

UpdateBookmarks.jpg

View solution in original post

5 REPLIES 5
Super User IV
Super User IV

Re: Clearing a Bookmark View to current page version

Hello @PabloHoney 

Bookmarks are great but they can be frustrating to work with.  When you make a change to the page that you want the bookmark to point to you have to update the bookmark.  

Open the Bookmarks Pane under Open > View.

Hold your mouse over the bookmark you want to update (don't click).  If you move your mouse over the ... at the end of the name you should see the note "More Options".  

When you see more options clicking on the ... will open the menu where you can select "Update" and that bookmark will be pointing at the new view.

UpdateBookmarks.jpg

View solution in original post

PabloHoney Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor

Re: Clearing a Bookmark View to current page version

Thank you for this! What about if I have CLICKED the bookmark, therefore taking me to the old Bookmarked page. How do I get to the current version of the page before updating the bookmark?

Highlighted
Super User IV
Super User IV

Re: Clearing a Bookmark View to current page version

If undo doesn't get you back you could try closing without saving then reopening.  If that doesn't work you will have to rebuild the view you want.

PabloHoney Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor

Re: Clearing a Bookmark View to current page version

I have been doing the "Close Without Saving" - but that seems crazy that someone can wipe out all of their work by clicking a bookmark. hmmmm

Super User IV
Super User IV

Re: Clearing a Bookmark View to current page version

If you catch it I think the undo will work but that is why I say the can be frustrating.

Helpful resources

Announcements
Coming Soon: T-Shirt Design Contest

Coming Soon: T-Shirt Design Contest

Keep your eyes open for our upcoming T-shirt design contest!

Meet the 2020 Season 1 Power BI Super Users!

Meet the 2020 Season 1 Power BI Super Users!

It’s the start of a new Super User season! Learn all about the new Super Users and brand-new tiered recognition system.

Super User Challenge: Can You Solve These?

Super User Challenge: Can You Solve These?

We're celebrating the start of the New Super User season with our first ever Super User 'Can You Solve These?' challenge.

Power Platform Online Conference

Power Platform Online Conference

Join us for the first ever Power Platform Online Conference!

Top Solution Authors
Top Kudoed Authors