Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

Hans_NewBee

Chord diagram

Dear Power BI users,

As a newbie I have a few questions regarding the use of Power BI and chord diagrams.

I like to make a chord diagram with a drill down function. And yes, there are a lot of examples shown on the internet (i.e. Youtube), but I am always missing a piece of the puzzle.

Current challenges:

• Sometimes there are examples available, but the Excel source file isn’t there. Reverse engineering is not an easy task or sometimes it is impossible to do..
  • It looks that there are lot of ways to make a drill down overview that it gets confusing for me.

For example regarding the last comment:

There are drill down examples based on one tab in Power BI.
Illustration -> tab name: Geography -> 3 columns (Country header with names, City header with names and Street header with names). But sometimes there are also different/more tabs that are used in a hierarchical model (with links 1-1 1-n n-n).  

So what is the right/easy approach?

I noticed that everybody is very enthusiastic and creative, but is there an easy/simple way to explain how to create a drill down overview (without all the bells and whistles)?

Thank you in advance for an answer!

Best regards,

Hans  

PS.

I hope this is the right category for this topic.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Hello Yingjie,

Thank you very much for your answer. So , there are still some constraints in PowerBI.

But now I know I don't have to look further. Thanks again! 🙂 

Best regards,

Hans 

View solution in original post

2 REPLIES 2
v-yingjl
Community Support
Community Support

Hi @Hans_NewBee ,

"Sometimes there are examples available, but the Excel source file isn’t there. Reverse engineering is not an easy task or sometimes it is impossible to do.."