Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn the coveted Fabric Analytics Engineer certification. 100% off your exam for a limited time only!

croberts21
Responsive Resident
Responsive Resident

Choosing new date in date slicer does not update the date

I'm still pretty new to PBI. I have the free PBI Desktop v2.105 (64 bit free version May 2022) on Windows 10, actually Windows Server 2019 Datacenter v1809. (We upgraded PBI recently.)

I have a report which has a date slicer which shows 2 dates: a begin date and end date. When I click in the begin date the calendar shows. I click to a new month, click on a date, and the calendar disappears, but the begin date does not change. Even when I click tab to go to the end date the start date does not change to the new date I chose. Entering dates by hand works, the dropdown calendar does not.

Ok what I'm seeing is, if a very specific pixel on the tip of the mouse pointer is not on the pixels that make up the digit of the day in the calendar, PBI is not registering a date change. (My mouse pointer shows as a hand with an extended index finger.) Thus, day numbers with 2 digits are more likely to register a date change and show the date chosen, than days with a single digit because 2 digit days have a larger area to register a click with the mouse pointer.

Could this be a bug in the May 2022 version?

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

The problem appears resolved in the May 22 version, or at least it's hard to duplicate. In the date slicer I used the dropdown calendar to pick a date while carefully clicking the pixels outside the black number and PBI chose the right date. 

There is not specific answer that solves the problem. 

View solution in original post

4 REPLIES 4
v-yiruan-msft
Community Support
Community Support

Hi  @croberts21 ,