Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

ballr
Frequent Visitor

Charting of Averages Not Working (As I expected)

I am new to Power BI and most likely am missing something very basic.

I have Rating data that I am summarizing (average) by year.  Oddly, when I do this, I am getting  a very different value than what I get in my Excel analysis. Looking into the data (View Records) I see that only unique values are being aggregated (I have 8 values of 5 and 1 of 4 so it should be close to 4.9 but instead I am only seeing one record for 4 and one record for 5 so the average is 4.5).

Is there a reason Power BI is only viewing unique values? 

6 REPLIES 6
Greg_Deckler
Super User
Super User

Hmm, can you post some sample data and any calculations so that we can recreate? It sounds like there is a "DISTINCT" going on somewhere in the calculations. Can you walk me through how you are "View Records" of the data? Are you talking about going to the data model and looking at the records there? If that is the case, then something in your query is filtering out your records.

@ me in replies or I'll lose your thread!!!
Instead of a Kudo, please vote for this idea
Become an expert!: Enterprise DNA
External Tools: MSHGQM
YouTube Channel!: Microsoft Hates Greg
Latest book!:
The Definitive Guide to Power Query (M)

DAX is easy, CALCULATE makes DAX hard...

smoupre,

Thanks for the quick reply. I have posted some sample data below for your to try to recreate the issue - although when I manually entered the data in a new model, it worked for me - so I fear it is maybe tied to a relationship that I established or a filter/distinct somewhere, as you mentioned.

I have removed all filtered data in the Query Editor as well as reviewed all of my custom measures/columns to ensure I don't have DISTINCT formulas.