Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

danandrew17

Changing Data Source of Transform Sample File

Hello,

I moved the source data of a PBI report and I had to change the file path source of my queries.  This worked fine for the data tables but when I tried to change the file path source for the Transform Sample File I am getting the following error:

Expression.Error: We cannot convert a value of type Table to type Binary.
Details:
Value=Table
Type=Type

I'm not an advanced developer but I'm surprised to get an error message because the new source file is identical to the original and there is simply a change in the name of a folder in the file path.

Hopefully somebody can help me understand how to address this.

Thanks,

Dan

11 REPLIES 11
xcherryblossomx

@danandrew17 wrote:

Hello,

I moved the source data of a PBI report and I had to change the file path source of my queries.  This worked fine for the data tables but when I tried to change the file path source for the Transform Sample File I am getting the following error:

Expression.Error: We cannot convert a value of type Table to type Binary.
Details:
Value=Table
Type=Type

I'm not an advanced developer but I'm surprised to get an error message because the new source file is identical to the original and there is simply a change in the name of a folder in the file path.

Hopefully somebody can help me understand how to address this.

Thanks,

Dan

I know this is probably too late but I found a solution and I hope this can help those who come across this later on. Somehow when I changed data source, my sample file's data source location didn't change with it. Which is why I had the same error.

Solution:

Go to Query Editor, click on your sample file on the query list.