Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

Vivek_J_UL

Change query from one to another without losing the reports

Hello,

I'm new to Power BI and have recently built a set of reports. They are all based on one query/ table (Let's call this Table A) sourced from an Excel sheet (lets call this Excel A). Now, after a few months, I have reached end of limit for Excel A (max no. of rows reached).

Now I would like to add a New append query (lets call it Table Z) from Table B, C, D etc to be refreshed from Excel B, C/ D.. etc respectively as and when they become full.

Now, since my current reports are based on Table A, I would like to point them to the new Append Query (Table Z) without losing the reports. Could someone please guide me how to achieve this?

On the long term, I would like migrate the data to a database like MS SQL Server. But, that would be a different solution and would like that challenge parked for now.  My immediate need is to change the existing reports to pull data from Table Z instead of Table A.

Cheers

4 REPLIES 4
v-eachen-msft
Community Support
Community Support

Hi @Vivek_J_UL ,

Before appending tables, you could insert into a custom column each table in the query editor to show the time.

1-1.PNG

And this column can be used as a flag to show if it is the latest data.

Community Support Team _ Eads
If this post helps, then please consider Accept it as the solution to help the other members find it.

Hi @v-eachen-msft ,

Thanks for your reply. Unfortunately, that is not required. When I followed any approach (Appending Table B into Table A or Creating a new Append Table Z containing rows of Table A and Table B), I could see all rows as required in table view.