Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

sylwestercz
Helper I
Helper I

Change amount sign based on text in column in another related table

Hello All,

I am new to Power Pivot / PowerBI and despite I consider myself as an Excel Pro still struggle with complex calculations/relationships etc.  I hope you can help me with below matter.

To simplify:

There are 2 tables.

Table 1 = Sales Invoice Line

This table has been appended with Sales Credit Memo Line so there is a list of sales invoices and credit notes however all amounts are positive and there is no other column in that table which could be the key to change sign etc.

Table 2 = Sales Invoice Header

This table has been appended with Sales Credit Memo Header and there is a list of sales invoices and credit notes and here I have a column No_Series with either "Invoice" or "Credit Note" text.

Both tables are not directly related but they both have relationship with Calendar table.

Is it possible to create a calculated column in Table 1 = Sales Invoice Line with an IF statement that when column No_Series in Table 2 is "Credit Note" then multiply amount with -1 otherwise return the original amount?

I tried to explain it as best as possible, please let me know if it was not clear enough.

Thank you in advance,

Sly

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Hi @sylwestercz

try with this

Amount-Transform = if(RELATED('Sales Invoice Header'[NO_Series])="Credit note";'Sales Invoice Line'[Amount]*-1;'Sales Invoice Line'[Amount])

Lima - Peru

View solution in original post

5 REPLIES 5
Vvelarde
Community Champion
Community Champion

hi @sylwestercz

Exist a unique Row for each date in Sales Invoice Line and Sales Invoice Header; No duplicates dates.?

How you do made the relationship in Excel when you search something in both tables?

Lima - Peru

hi @Vvelarde