Reply
Regular Visitor
Posts: 36
Registered: ‎11-02-2017
Accepted Solution

Change Column Header Name

I am running my financial dashboard and as one year is now completed, I am trying to replace my budget for a new one. So, the budget column heads used to be called 1/1/2017 and now this is changing to 1/1/2018. However, if I change the header, the update will give me an error saying that the column header has changed. I need to change the header because my comparison between budget and actuals will not work as I change the year to 2018. Any tip on how to change the header and make Power BI to accept the new header name?


Accepted Solutions
Highlighted
Community Support Team
Posts: 7,619
Registered: ‎05-02-2017

Re: Change Column Header Name

Hi @Jawed,

 

I would suggest renaming columns in the Query Editor where is dedicated to shape data (customize). If we change the column name in the source, some steps that cite the column name directly could be destroyed. 

Change_Column_Header_Name2

 

Best Regards,

Dale

Community Support Team _ Dale
If this post helps, then please consider Accept it as the solution to help the other members find it more quickly.

View solution in original post


All Replies
Community Support Team
Posts: 7,619
Registered: ‎05-02-2017

Re: Change Column Header Name

Hi @Jawed,

 

Where did you change the column header? I would suggest you change it in the Query Editor by adding a new step.Change Column Header Name.PNG

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Best Regards,

Dale

Community Support Team _ Dale
If this post helps, then please consider Accept it as the solution to help the other members find it more quickly.
Regular Visitor
Posts: 36
Registered: ‎11-02-2017

Re: Change Column Header Name

Hi @v-jiascu-msft

 

The name changes were made on the spreadsheet where the data is pulled from as the new data relates to the new year. However, the rest of the data structure is the same. Would you suggest that I rename both the columns in the Power BI and the data spreadsheets?

Highlighted
Community Support Team
Posts: 7,619
Registered: ‎05-02-2017

Re: Change Column Header Name

Hi @Jawed,

 

I would suggest renaming columns in the Query Editor where is dedicated to shape data (customize). If we change the column name in the source, some steps that cite the column name directly could be destroyed. 

Change_Column_Header_Name2

 

Best Regards,

Dale

Community Support Team _ Dale
If this post helps, then please consider Accept it as the solution to help the other members find it more quickly.
Regular Visitor
Posts: 36
Registered: ‎11-02-2017

Re: Change Column Header Name

Thank you, @v-jiascu-msft. I'll leave the source column as they are and rename them in the editor.