cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
RafaelKnuth Regular Visitor
Regular Visitor

Challenge: Transforming Data with M-Language - messy data scraped from the web

I am new to M-Language, and I am playing around with it to see how far I can get.

I pulled data from the web: https://www.t-systems.com/de/en/locations for the purpose of creating a clean directory of company locations.

After several failed attempts to get data directly from the web into Excel / Power BI, I tried several web scrapers, of which only one worked halfways well.

Finally, I got an Excel file that looks like this:

I am trying to wrap my head around this data, and I was wondering if it's even possible to clean that data up with help of M?

It's barely digestable for a human ...

Obviously, it would take me less time to just manually copy and paste the data into a text file, clean it up manually and then load it into Excel. But I was wondering how a data pro would handle such a scenario, given the data set wouldn't be just a couple dozen addresses but a huge volume, impossible to get cleaned up manually.

Please bear in mind that the example above is totally arbitrary, based on publically availeable data, for educational purposes only.

I am using it to demostrate a realistic scenario.

Thanks for your feedback!

2 REPLIES 2
Community Support Team
Community Support Team

Re: Challenge: Transforming Data with M-Language - messy data scraped from the web

HI @RafaelKnuth,

Current power query not contain functions to auto analysis records.

According to your screenshots, I think you can use try to get data from specific api, then remove 't-system' prefix from address column.

After these steps, I think remain part text can be analysed as 'data category' address/place. You can use these records to create map.

Reference link:

Using a REST API as a data source

5 Very Useful Text Formulas – Power Query Edition

Regards,

Xiaoxin Sheng