Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

TL
Regular Visitor

Category/Subcategory Calculation

I am very new to Dax and am guessing the solution is right under my nose, but I've exhausted my limited knowledge and need some guidance.

The data indicates number of people per category and with the Dax measures I calculate the average number of people per sub-category based on the number of sub-category occurences.  The pivot table summarizes what I expect it to regarding the total number of people for each category and sub-category.  The issue is that I would like the grand total to reflect the sum of the categories (in the case below 12+7.5+13+10).

SubCategory Count:=COUNT([SubCategory])

Total SubCategory Count:=calculate(count([SubCategory]),ALL([SubCategory]))

Category Manpower:=calculate(divide(sum([Manpower]),[SubCategory Count]),ALL([SubCategory]))

Manpower/SubCategory(Category):=divide([Subcategory Count],[Total SubCategory Count])*[Category MP]

Capture1.JPG                    Capture2.JPG

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
v-juanli-msft
Community Support
Community Support

Hi @TL

Try this measure

Measure = IF(HASONEVALUE(Sheet7[category]),[Manpower/SubCategory(Category)],
SUMX(VALUES(Sheet7[category]),[Manpower/SubCategory(Category)]))

10.png

Best Regards

Maggie

View solution in original post

5 REPLIES 5
dancarr
Frequent Visitor

Hi team,

I think my problem might be quite simple, but related. I have to apply some calculations to incoming data. Whereby I am aim to have a percentage as the end result. I have 31 categories, and 131 subcategories, but there are differing numbers of subcategories per category. Per subcategory I need to check if there is a name listed, which would then result in an percentage.