Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn the coveted Fabric Analytics Engineer certification. 100% off your exam for a limited time only!

AoJueMing
Helper I
Helper I

Casting a wide net as I'm not even sure of how to ask the question - survey data related

Hey

I deal with survey data, I have for a long time and recently decided to see how BI can develop my work.  

I'm pretty new to it and I'm not sure of the esoteric data management terminologies so I'm just going to get straight to it and hopefully we can find a way to communicate!

Let's say we have a survey with 3 multiple-choice questions.  Each question has 3 possible answers and only one answer can be given per question.  When you pull that data you will very easily be able to organise the data in the fashion that PBI needs it to be in in order to read/use it.  From there is it very simple to create your charts and explore your data.  You will, for example, be able to click on a segment of the piechart you made for the first question, and that will automatically show you how those people from that segment answered the rest of the survey questions.  Very useful, very easy, very good.

Now let's say we've added a multiple-choice matrix question.  Let's say we're now using checkboxes instead of radio buttons also, to really spice it up.  If you've followed me to this point and you know what I'm talking about, you'll know that some fairly serious cleansing is required in order to use the data you receive from pulling that survey data.  Typically you'll need to unpivot the data for that question.  You do this, and you end up with a 'flattened' table of the format that is required by PBI.  (Can this flattened question data be merged with the rather more simple data from the other simple questions?  Can anyone point me in a direction?)

And here is my problem;