Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

Anonymous
Not applicable

Carried/Brought Forward Tickets - Excluding rows when counting based on a date period

Good morning,

I am fairly new to DAX so I am trying my best not to get confused with all of this 🙂

I am trying to create a Support Desk report which allow the team to see something like this:

2019-09-15 01_23_34-Report Viewer_ _Monthly Service Report - SILVER.png

I managed to create the following matrix using a few fields in the incidents table "Created on, Breached F.R. On, Breach R. On,":

2019-09-15 01_27_33-MSR - Silver V4 - Excep DFE Edition - Power BI Desktop.png

So far, no problems and data looks correct however, I want to add two more columns to the matrix above which are:

• Brought Forward tickets "Active tickets from the month before the last one, brought into last month"
  • Carried Forward tickets "Active tickets in last month carried over into current month"

I used the following measure to calculate Active tickets at the end of each calendar month:

Active_tickets = 
ADDCOLUMNS (
    FILTER (
        CALENDAR ( DATE ( 2000, 1, 1 ), DATE ( 2025, 12, 31 ) ),
        DAY ( [Date] ) = 1
    ),
    "YearMonth", FORMAT ( [Date], "YYYY-MMMM" ),
    "OpenTicket", CALCULATE ( COUNT ( incidents[incidentid] ))
        - CALCULATE (
            COUNT ( incidents[incidentid] ),
            FILTER ( Incidents, incidents[tiss_resolveddate] < [Date] )
        )
        + CALCULATE (
            COUNT ( incidents[incidentid] ),
               FILTER ( Incidents, ISBLANK( incidents[tiss_resolveddate] ))
        )
)

But I noticed that we have a major issue with our data where most of the historical records in our CRM system has no tiss_resolveddate value populated and the result was: