Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn the coveted Fabric Analytics Engineer certification. 100% off your exam for a limited time only!

Matty
Helper II
Helper II

Cards to show data for the last week, last month, etc based on current date...

Hi All,

Just started using Power BI in anger and I really like the software. Smiley Happy

I'm building a report at the moment where I would like cards to show data for the last week, last month, etc., but I'm struggling to establish a way of doing this without a manual filter.

As I want my report to be dynamic based on the current date, last week should show data from week commencing 10/04, but how can I do this in Power BI?

This would be a breeze for me in Excel, but I'm still learning Power BI and DAX formulas, hence the post.  Hope someone has a suggestion as to how the described problem could be resolved.

Cheers,

Matty

6 REPLIES 6
OwenAuger
Super User
Super User

Hi @Matty

Since you are wanting to filter on dates relative to the current date (rather than relative to the date filtered), such as last week and last month, there is an approach you could use covered in these two blog posts:

https://gqbi.wordpress.com/2016/09/07/create-dynamic-periods-for-fiscal-or-calendar-dates-in-power-b...

https://blog.crossjoin.co.uk/2016/05/30/creating-current-day-week-month-and-year-reports-in-power-bi...

These approaches use a table which relates Ranges of Dates to Period Names, and use bidirectional cross-filtering to filter your Calendar table.

The good thing about this method is that you don't need to modify the DAX in your measures. However, all of your Periods are relative to a fixed date (updated at time of refresh).

For example, this table would contain rows like this, with the Date column on the many side of a 1:many bi-directional relationship with the Calendar table:

Period           Date

Previous Week    10-Apr-17

Previous Week    11-Apr-17